Posted by: tarrydiddle | June 16, 2009

Short story challenge

Lately reading hasn’t  kept my full attention. I find myself hurrying through whatever book I’m reading or skimming pages. Usually when I get this restless i turn to magazines to get a quick burst of mindless reading done. It clears out the cobwebs so I can go back to reading real books.  But money is tight and anyway I need to quit buying so damn many magazines!

A couple of weeks ago, when I was reorganizing my bookshelves, I realized there were many volumes of short stories I hadn’t touched. So instead of reading magazines, I’ve decided to read a short story here and there, to cleanse the reading pallet.

I’m not joining an official short story reading challenge, just challenging myself to read 50 short stories/ novellas before the end of the year.

My list of completed short stories can be found here.


Responses

  1. That is a great idea! Sometimes I want to read something light and short, usually inbetween books. When I read a book I’ve really loved I am hesitant to pick up the next book quickly because I want the previous one to ‘sit’ with me for a while. Short-stories might be a good way for me to deal with this period when I’m not quite ready to be swept away into my next big relationship. :o)

  2. Cute photos. I have my own reading challenges than the others I’m participating in. I won’t finish mine by the end of the year though. Have faith.

  3. I’m not going to finish a couple of my reading challenges either but it’s still fun to attempt them :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

